Earl Grey and Lavender Cupcakes

DSC_0968

For my first post to this blog, I thought I’d share something that is both a personal favourite of mine as well as a sweet that means a lot to me. Growing up tea drinking has always been something that has brought my family together; my family rarely sits down without a freshly brewed pot of tea.

When I first heard of using tea as a flavouring for a cupcake I was immediately sold. It is truly a union of my two very favourite things, so naturally I got to work on creating the perfect earl grey tea cupcake. Initially I made these for my work friends, but since I have made them on many occasions (including making and icing 80 of these bad boys for my sisters engagement party)

These cakes are beautifully light, just as a cupcake should be, with an irresistible drawing aroma. They are not the sweetest of cupcakes, however they have a unique and complex mix of flavours unlike anything I have tasted in a cupcake. They are deceptively simple, and make the perfect morning tea snack for tea totallers and non-tea drinkers alike.


DSC_0980

My favourite version of this recipe is made with a French Earl Grey (i adore the one from T2) made with a lavender butter cream icing, however, I have also made these with a marmalade icing, or simply eaten them warm on their own with a little honey- delish!

Earl Grey Cupcakes

  • 2 Generous Teaspoons loose leaf Earl Grey tea
  • 1/4 cup boiled water
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 100g unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup castor sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup SR flour, sifted

Start by brewing the tea in the boiled water, I have always used loose leaf tea when making this recipe; i allow the tea 5-7 minutes to brew- however if using the contents of an opened teabag 2-3 minutes should suffice accounting for the smaller leaf. Transfer the brewed tea to a larger mixing bowl, then add the milk.  At this point your kitchen will smell incredible!

The remaining ingredients can them be added to the tea mixture, and mixed using an electric mixer on a medium setting until light and creamy. Spoon cupcake mix into a muffin pan lined with paper cases. This recipe should yield 12-14 cupcakes.

Transfer the cupcakes to a preheated oven at 180°C. Bake for 20 minutes, then leave to cool on a wire rack.

Lavender Butter Cream

  • 3-4 cups Icing sugar
  • 175g butter, softened
  • 3 tablespoons Milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon lavender oil
  • lavender food colouring, if desired

Using an electric mixer on medium- beat the butter, milk and 1/4 of the icing sugar. Slowly add remaining icing sugar until the butter cream icing reaches a consistency that you like.

Add the Lavender oil and food colouring, mixing until colour is consistent. It’s important to note that the lavender oil be used sparingly, in large quantities it is less than palatable!

DSC_0972

Leave a Reply

